Top Show Dogs for 2012 Honored

58th Annual Show Dogs of the Year Awards dinner honors top-winning dogs, handlers and more.

Purebred dog fanciers gathered Feb. 9 to honor the top show dogs and show dog people of 2012 at the 58th Annual Show Dogs of the Year Awards dinner, presented at the Grand Hyatt Hotel in New York City by our sister publication, Dogs In Review magazine.
The awards, sponsored by Purina® Pro Plan®, are presented annually to the seven dogs that win the most Variety Group Firsts at American Kennel Club conformation dog shows during a calendar year, and to the single dog that wins the most Best in Show awards, plus the top obedience dog.

German Shorthaired Pointer, OakleySPORTING GROUP
Show Dog of the Year for the Sporting Group, and also the top Best in Show dog of 2012 based on the number of all-breed Best in Shows won

The German Wirehaired Pointer Dog
GCh. Mt. View’s Ripsnortersilvercharm ‘‘Oakley’’
(Ch. Ripsnorter’s Thunderhart x Ch. Mountain View’s Next Strike)

Breeders: James Witt, Claire Wisch and Kelly Wisch
Owner: Victor Malzoni Jr.
Handler: Phillip E. Booth
Group Firsts: 152

Show Dog of the Year for the Hound Group

The Harrier Dog
GCh. Downhome Hitech Innovator “Chet’’
(Ch. Downhome Family Tradition x Tallyho Joyful)

Breeders: Susan Lowder, Miriam Nell and Kenneth Nell
Owner: Joe Sanches
Handler: Susie Olivera
Group Firsts: 106

Show Dog of the Year for the Working Group

The Doberman Pinscher Bitch
GCh. Protocol’s Veni Vidi Vici ‘Fifi’
(Ch. Foxfire All Star x Ch. Protocol’s American Dream CDX RN AX AXJ XF)

Breeders: Jocelyn Mullins and Kevin Mullins
Owners: Suzy Lundy, Dick Lundy, and J. and K. Mullins
Handler: Jocelyn Mullins
Group Firsts: 116

Show Dog of the Year for the Terrier Group

The Wire Fox Terrier Bitch
GCh. Afterall Painting The Sky ‘Sky’
(Ch. Fyrewyre Fast And Furious x Fyrewyre Forget-Me-Not)

Breeders: A. J. Pertuit Jr. and Betty Seaton
Owners: Victor Malzoni Jr., T. Steele, S. and M. Olund and Diane Ryan
Handler: Gabriel Rangel
Group Firsts: 98

Show Dog of the Year for the Toy Group

The Affenpinscher Dog
GCh. Banana Joe V. Tani Kazari ‘Joe’
(Kyleakin Space Cowboy x Bling Bling V. Tani Kazari)

Breeder: Mieke Cooymans
Owners: Zoila Truesdale and Mieke Cooymans
Handler: Ernesto Lara
Group Firsts: 128

Show Dog of the Year for the Non-Sporting Group

London, Standard PoodleThe Standard Poodle Dog
GCh. Jaset’s Satisfaction ‘London’
(Ch. Jaset Sparks Will Fly x Ch. Cabernet Lets Go To Jaset)

Breeders: Sandra Tompkins and Chris Bailey
Owners: Beth Harris, Michele Molnar, Jamie Danburg
Handler: Ann Rairgh
Group Firsts: 98

Show Dog of the Year for the Herding Group

The German Shepherd Dog
GCh. Babheim’s Captain Crunch “Capi’’
(Ch. Kenlyn’s Aries V Hicliff x Ch. Prima Bullerina Of Edan)
Breeder: Carlos Navarro
Owners: J. and J. Moses, D. Stern, J. Lange, C. Navarro and M. Deschamp
Handler: Jimmy Moses
Group Firsts: 94

Also honored during the evening were the winners of the coveted Winkies for Annual Achievement, sponsored by Purina® Pro Plan®. These winners are selected by votes from their peers. Winkies for outstanding achievement in the sport of purebred dogs, with comments from the nominating committee:

Show of the Year – While much of the country shivers in winter’s gloom and cold, each January the Kennel Club of Palm Springs puts on a well run show, held on the beautiful Polo Grounds in Indio California, lush, green lawns ringed by scenic mountains, one of the most picturesque venues anywhere. The numerous specialties held on this weekend assure large entries. Spacious rings and an outstanding judging panel are always assured.

Best Professional Handler – A legend in the Terrier ring, Bergit Coady Kabel’s dogs are always groomed to perfection and flawlessly presented. Always polite and professional, she is totally dedicated to her dogs.

Judge of the Year – Perennially popular, Houston Clark is thoughtful, sincere and knowledgeable. Mr Clark shows respect and kindness to all and gives everyone who enters his ring his best consideration.

Best Owner-Handler – Patricia Craige Trotter is a legend as a breeder, owner handler of outstanding Norwegian Elkhounds. Her trademark conditioning, training and presentation of her Vin-Melca exhibits is a model for others to strive for.

Outstanding Breeder – Michelle Santana’s Foxfire Doberman Pinschers are renowned worldwide for producing consistently outstanding type and temperament in this highly competitive breed. Along with numerous Group, Best In Show and Specialty winning dogs, Foxfire takes great pride in their companion, agility and obedience dogs.

Industry achievement awards were presented to:

Dr. David Beltran, D.V.M., Veterinarian of the Year, presented by Live Oak Bank.

Irina Pinkusevich, Groomer of the Year, presented by Andis.

Walter Goodman was presented with the Anne Rogers Clark Hall of Fame Award for 2012. The annual award goes to the individual who embodies the very best qualities of the show dog sport and who has given a lifetime of contributions to the dog fancy.

The Show Dogs annual event is sponsored by Dogs In Review magazine, which is published by I-5 Publishing, owner and operator of the DogChannel.


Article Categories: