2012 Show Dogs of the Year

Dogs In Review magazine presents the 2012 Show Dogs of the Year Award winners.

What is a top dog? There are several different methods, or “systems,” used to rank the dogs that compete each weekend of the year. The records for the number of dogs defeated and particular numbers of wins are compiled and distributed by the American Kennel Club. Some systems record the number of dogs defeated in Best of Breed competition, some are based on the number of dogs defeated only in the Group and Best in Show ring, and some are a combination of the two. Of the many award celebrations that once honored the dogs that topped the various systems, one still survives, since 2003 called the Dogs in Review Show Dogs of the Year Awards, sponsored by Purina Pro Plan.

Celebrating its 58th anniversary in 2013, the Show Dogs of the Year awards are bestowed on the seven dogs that win the most Group Firsts each year. They were once very familiar to everyone in the sport as the “Quaker Oats Awards” and have long been coveted by those who campaign dogs at the higher levels. An eighth award is now given each year to the Best in Show Dog of the Year, the dog that wins the most all-breed Bests. The 2012 winner of this award is German Wirehaired Pointer GCh. Mt. View’s Ripsnorter Silver Charm ‘Oakley.’

The newest crop of Top Dogs consists of two bitches and five dogs that have climbed to the top of their Groups. Their breeders, owners and handlers are dedicated fanciers who have devoted their lives to the sport. In several Groups, the race came down to the very last shows of the year. Congratulations, all. We salute the 2012 Show Dogs of the Year Award Winners.


Sporting Group

Show Dog of the Year for the Sporting Group
The German Wirehaired Pointer dog
GCh. Mt. View’s Ripsnorter Silver Charm ‘Oakley’
(Ch. Ripsnorter’s Thunderhart x Ch. Mountain View’s Next Strike)
Breeders: James Witt, Claire Wisch and Kelly Wisch
Owner: Victor Malzoni, Jr.
Handler: Phillip E. Booth
Group Firsts: 152


Hound Group

Show Dog of the Year for the Hound Group
The Harrier dog
GCh. Downhome Hitech Innovator ‘Chet’
(Ch. Downhome Family Tradition x Tallyho Joyful)
Breeders: Susan Lowder, Miriam Nell and Kenneth Nell
Owner: Joe Sanchez
Handler: Susie Olivera
Group Firsts: 106


Working Group

Show Dog of the Year for the Working Group
The Doberman Pinscher bitch
GCh. Protocol’s Veni Vidi Vici ‘Fifi’
(Ch. Foxfire All Star x Ch. Protocol’s American Dream CDX RN AX AXJ XF)
Breeders: Jocelyn Mullins and Kevin Mullins
Owners: Suzy Lundy, Dick Lundy, and J. and K. Mullins
Handler: Jocelyn Mullins
Group Firsts: 116


Terrier Group

Show Dog of the Year for the Terrier Group
The Wire Fox Terrier bitch
GCh. Afterall Painting the Sky ‘Sky’
(Ch. Fyrewyre Fast And Furious x Fyrewyre Forget-Me-Not)
Breeders: Al J. Pertuit Jr. and Betty Seaton
Owners: Victor Malzoni Jr., Torie Steele, Scott and Mary Olund, and Diane Ryan
Handler: Gabriel Rangel
Group Firsts: 98


Toy Group

Show Dog of the Year for the Toy Group
The Affenpinscher dog
GCh. Banana Joe V. Tani Kazari ‘Joe’
(Kyleakin Space Cowboy x Bling Bling V. Tani Kazari)
Breeder: Mieke Cooymans
Owners: Zoila Truesdale and Mieke Cooymans
Handler: Ernesto Lara
Group Firsts: 128


Non-Sporting Group

Show Dog of the Year for the Non-Sporting Group
The Standard Poodle dog
GCh. Jaset’s Satisfaction ‘London’
(Ch. Jaset’s Sparks Will Fly x Ch. Cabernet Lets Go To Jaset)
Breeders: Sandra Tompkins and Chris Bailey
Owners: Beth Harris, Michele Molnar, Jamie Danburg
Handler: Ann Rairigh
Group Firsts: 98


Herding Group

Show Dog of the Year for the Herding Group
The German Shepherd dog
GCh. Babheim’s Captain Crunch ‘Capi’
(Ch. Kenlyn’s Aries V Hicliff x Ch. Prima Bullerina Of Edan)
Breeder: Carlos Navarro
Owners: James and Sheree Moses, D. Stern, Janet Lange, Carlos Navarro and M. Deschamp
Handler: James Moses
Group Firsts: 94

Article Tags:
· · · · · · · · · · ·
Article Categories:
Dogs · Lifestyle